Well, I’ve been busy (painting my nails, obviously).

I have two reviews for you today.  The first is Essie-Shine of the Times layered over Butter London-Marrow.  You can see my review for Butter London-Marrow here

Essie Shine of the times is a part of their luxeffects collection.  It’s a multichromatic glitter flakie top coat, and I absolutely LOVE it.  Actually, I love pretty much all of Essie’s polishes and I’m wondering why I don’t have more of them in my collection.  Time to hit up CVS, I suppose. 

This polish can be worn alone, but I think it works best as a top coat.  It really shows all the flakies and colors.  I’m thinking of layering it over a mint or a gray next time.  Talk about pretty.  It goes on quite thick, so don’t use too much.  You can always add but it’s a pain to take away.  No complaints from me though.  Have a look.

(indoors w/o flash)

(indoors w/flash)

get ready for this one…

(outdoors w/o flash)

Gorgeous, right?

Time to move on now.  I saved the best for last. Layla Holographic in Flash Black

I’ve been waiting for this polish to come in stock at Ulta.  I went there a few weeks ago and asked the sales lady when they’d be arriving, and she had no idea what I was talking about.  She looked at me like I was crazy when I mentioned holographic.  After patiently waiting, I went back there a week or so later, and YAY!!!  They had it in stock.  I did my research beforehand, so I knew exactly what I wanted.  Here you go…

(indoors w/o flash)

(indoors w/ flash)

(outdoors w/o flash)

Oh. Em. Gee!  These pictures don’t even do this polish ANY justice.  The pictures are pretty, but in person this polish is BEAUTIFUL!  I can’t even tell you how many compliments I get when people see this.  I’ve even had two guys tell me how cool this color is…and that says something. 

This is a gray/charcoal linear holographic.  I recommend using a base coat to get the full effect.  I use Nfu Oh’s Aqua Base.  I used two coats of Layla for this picture.  That’s really all you need.  It applies nicely and doesn’t streak, especially if you use a base coat.  I even applied Seche Vite’s top coat and it didn’t change the effect at all (like it did with my Nails Inc. Holographic Effect top coat).  Basically, what I’m saying is “buy this”.  If this color isn’t for you, they have plenty of other colors to choose from.  This cost me $15.50, but I had a coupon for 20% off.  I believe that coupon is expired now, but you can go to the Ulta website and print a coupon for $3.50 off $10.  There’s no limit on how many times you can print it, so go in everyday and buy a new nail polish 🙂  That’s what I do.  Why pay full price?  Talk to me about discounts and coupons.  I can find a great deal (almost) anywhere. 

I hope you liked my “killing two birds with one stone” review.  Please leave comments or suggestions below.  Do you have a product you’d like me to review?  Let me know!

About cupcakesandmisanthropy

I like horror movies, kittens, makeup/nail polish/beauty products, baking, cooking, metal, hip hop & being awesome :)

Leave a Reply

