Hi everyone!  I’ve been neglecting my blog because I’ve been really busy and I have great news!  My sister had a baby on April 4, 2012!

Ida Antoinette. 7lbs 7oz.  She’s a sweet little Angel, and I love her to pieces.  Look at how beautiful she is.  I can’t wait to paint her nails 🙂

Image

More baby pictures soon…but that’s not why you’re here. You’re here because I promised to review Urban Decay’s Naked & Naked 2 palettes.  So without further adieu…

Image

Image

Image

(From Left to Right w/o flash & with: Virgin, Sin, Naked, Sidecar, Buck, Half Baked, Smog, Darkhorse, Toasted, Hustle, Creep, Gunmetal)

This is the original Naked palette.  I use this palette everyday.  Really…everyday.  It’s very versatile. There’s only a couple matte colors in this palette.  Most of the colors are shimmer, but I’m a fan of shimmer so it really doesn’t bother me.  You can wear these colors in the daytime or night time.  For $48 it was a steal.  Alone, the shadows cost about $17 each.  You do the math.  This is a warmer palette.  So it looks great on warmer tones, but I’m cool toned and I still love it.

Here are some swatches.

Image

Image

Gorgeous, right?

But wait!  Have you seen the Naked 2 palette??  Well, here it is.

Image

Image

Image

(From Left to Right w/o flash & with: Foxy, Half Baked, Bootycall, Chopper, Tease, Snakebite, Suspect, Pistol, Verve, YDK, Busted, Blackout)

Oooh.  Now that’s pretty!  This palette has a few more matte colors than the original, including a black matte color!  There is a repeat color in here…Half Baked.  One of my favorite Urban Decay colors.  Oh.  I forgot to mention.  There are colors in both of the palettes that are exclusive to the Naked palettes. Meaning, you won’t be able to buy them separately.  That’s why you NEED to buy these. 🙂

Here’s a few swatches

Image

Image

The Naked 2 palette is for cooler tones.  It has a lot of mauves, silvers and purples.  My favorite color from here is called busted.  It’s a mauve/purpley/grey shimmer and it’s just beautiful.  In my opinion these colors are just a tad more bolder than the original Naked, which makes them perfect for a smoky eye look, but I still wear them in the daytime.  Actually, I use them both when doing my makeup in the morning.  I always get compliments on my eye makeup when I use these.  A lot of people say that if you have one palette, you don’t really need the other.  I disagree. While the colors are similar, they are also very different.

Want to know a quick tip on how to check if you’re cool toned or warm toned…?  First, check your veins.  Do they look blue or green?  Also, what colors look best on you?  Purples, Blues, Greens or Reds, Oranges or Yellows?  Well, if your veins are green and you look best in warmer colors then you’re warm toned and the Naked palette is perfect for you.  If your veins are blue and you look best in cooler colors then you’re cool toned, so buy Naked 2 🙂  I say buy them both.  Together, they’ll cost you about $100. Well worth it though, IMO.

I hope this was helpful and I hope you run out this weekend to buy one or both of these!  Ulta has a 20% off coupon running right now.  I’m not sure if these palettes are excluded from the coupons (usually they are).

Here’s a quick look on what you can do with this

 

 

Would you like some tutorials using these palettes?  Comment below and let me know.  Thanks for reading 🙂

About cupcakesandmisanthropy

I like horror movies, kittens, makeup/nail polish/beauty products, baking, cooking, metal, hip hop & being awesome :)

One response »

  1. Samantha says:

    Yes! Tutorial!!! Please show us your technique for applying eyeshadow. It looks so lovely!

Leave a Reply

